Easter weekend with the family

My Grandma Perry and I

Sunday, March 31st may have been Easter, but it was also another very important day.  March 31st, was my great grandma’s 82nd birthday. So, besides getting to spend this weekend at home for Easter, my family and I got to celebrate my Grandma’s birthday.

So the weekend started like every weekend, me getting home on Friday night and hanging out with all my friends in town and can not forget a trip to Marion, IL or Paducah, Ky.  Well this weekend, we got out the bowling shoes and went and bowled. All in all, it was a fun night with all of my friends back home.

When I am home, everyone knows on Saturday, I will be found in Pope County, IL at the sheriff’s office or out with a deputy.  So this weekend was no different.  I got up at 6:45 am and was out the door by 7 am to be at work by 7:30.  So as always, I walk in the office and get caught up with the dispatcher before getting some work done.  So after getting caught up with all the crime in Pope County and all the good gossip, I went and cleaned up two squads.  I finished cleaning the squads just in time before the deputy I ride with came out.  Well it was a normal Saturday at the sheriff’s office, the routine crazy calls and traffic stops.  So after being at the sheriff’s office for 10 hours and getting a lot accomplished it was time to head to home.

So after a full day at the sheriff’s office, I went to my Aunt and Uncle’s house to enjoy a night with them.  We had some pizza, roasted mash mellows over the fire-place.  All in all it was a fun night at their house and not to mention that they helped me complete the 15 loads of laundry I had.

So every Easter Sunday, my family and I all have a tradition.  Every Easter Sunday, we get up and go to church with my Grandma and Great Grandma.  So we got up and dressed in our newest Easter clothes and went and spent the morning in the presence of God.  This Sunday, was also very special because it was my Great Grandma Perry’s 82nd birthday.  So after church, my family and I all went back to her house and had a huge Easter/birthday lunch with all 20 of us kids, grand-kids, and great-grand kids.

This was by far a wonderful trip home.

Leave a comment